JOY in Thinking Out Loud

Everybody seems to love Ed Sheeran’s hit song that goes like the perfect music you hear and sing out loud when you go on a long long drive with the person you love –

“So honey now, take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of the thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
I’m thinking out loud
Maybe we found love right where we are

When my hair’s all gone and my memory fades
And the crowds don’t remember my name
When my hands don’t play the strings the same way
I know you will still love me the same way”

And I sing away.

Wiping occasional tears and laughing as our little girl runs away each time I hit the high notes. It is a meaningless song but it makes me fall in love over and over. And I sing away some more as if finding a more beautiful way of saying thank you.

Thank you that after all these years, our friendship is solid and nothing like I have ever had before or will ever have in my lifetime.

Thank you that I still look forward to our long conversations and many shared meals.

Thank you that I am still crazy about you coming home from a long trip or just a day spent at work; and that I still cry whenever you have to leave and be away for more than a night.

Thank you that you still look at me like I am always beautiful; that look somehow never left you even after some of my years of ageing, some weeks of sneezing and fighting a nasty allergy; some hours of crying over some silly things; after some months of pregnancy and hours of painful labor pains; after some years of limited sleep and occasional homesickness; some moments of pain and loss.

Thank you that you still hold my hand so affectionately, so tenderly, that I always feel someone strong, true and faithful is always around, for me.

Thank you that you still hug me like it is our first time, and you hug me so much more when our days are not too easy.

Thank you that you still laugh with me the way you did many years ago when life was younger and a lot less complicated.

Thank you that everyday you remember my many dreams, appreciate my brave choices, and remind me that there is nothing wrong in dreaming the same old dreams.

Thank you that you always give me a reason to sing love songs, cry over some silly romantic movies, believe in a kind of love that stays and persists, to wish for a long long drive with you in a beautiful countryside, through endless conversations, about our everyday yesterday until our own forever.

It is not our anniversary and not your birthday. I am just spending this lazy afternoon nursing a really bad allergy attack “thinking out loud” and hoping it is loud enough for you to know that someone, after all these years, is still totally crazy about being with you.

“And, darling, I will be loving you ’til we’re 70
And, baby, my heart could still fall as hard at 23
And I’m thinking ’bout how people fall in love in mysterious ways
Maybe just the touch of a hand
Well, me—I fall in love with you every single day
And I just wanna tell you I am

So honey now
Take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
I’m thinking out loud
That maybe we found love right where we are”

Why we never grow tired of just talking and being around each other, I will never understand.

20150330-172409.jpg

And these quiet moments of just drinking tea while our little girl is taking a nap, are just precious.

20150330-172517.jpg

And I get flowers from you on ordinary days that the little girl thinks I am a queen, washing dishes.

20150330-172621.jpg

While you were away on a business trip, I saw a printout of our wedding website that you kept in our special bag. You love beautifully like that.

20150330-172838.jpg

And my heart is always filled with a deep kind of joy remembering the day you gave me this, and more.

20150330-173157.jpg

Leave a comment